hanna_meretojaHanna Meritoja (Coordinator)

Hanna Meretoja is Professor of Comparative Literature, Director of SELMA: Centre for the Study of Storytelling, Experientiality and Memory, and Vice Dean of the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Turku (Finland). Her research is mainly in the fields of narrative theory, narrative hermeneutics, narrative ethics, and cultural memory studies. Her publications include The Narrative Turn in Fiction and Theory (2014, Palgrave Macmillan), “Narrative and Human Existence: Ontology, Epistemology, and Ethics” (New Literary History, 1/2014), Values of Literature (co-edited, 2015, Brill Rodopi), and The Ethics of Storytelling: Narrative Hermeneutics, History, and the Possible (forthcoming, Oxford University Press).


Eneken Laanes (Coordinator)

Eneken Laanes is Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Head of Cultural Theory at Tallinn University and Senior Researcher at the Under and Tuglas Literature Centre of the Estonian Academy of Sciences, Estonia. Her fields of research are cultural memory studies, trauma studies, post-Soviet Easter European cultures of remembrance and theories of autobiography and self. Her publication include Unresolved Dialogues: Subjectivity and Memory in post-Soviet Estonian Novel (in Estonian, 2009, UTKK), Novels, Histories, Novel Nations: Historical Fiction and Cultural Memory in Finland and Estonia (co-edited, 2015, Suomen Kirjalisuuden Seura).


Charles Armstrong, University of Agder, Kristiansand

Molly Andrews, University of East London

Jens Brockmeier, The American University of Paris

Marta Cenedese, University of Turku

Colin Davis, Royal Holloway, University of London

Victoria Fareld, University of Stockholm

Mark Freeman, Holy Cross College (USA)

Mattias Frihammar, University of Stockholm

Paul Gready, University of York

Olivia Guaraldo, University of Verona

Kimberly Hall, Wofford College

Markus Huss, Södertörn University

Matti Hyvärinen, University of Tampere

Kaisa Kaakinen, University of Turku

Siobhan Kattago, Tartu University

Unni Langås, University of Agder, Kristiansand

Maarit Leskelä-Kärki, University of Turku

Jakob Lothe, University of Oslo

Maria Mäkelä, University of Tampere

Kristina Norman, Estonian Academy of Art

Anna Reading, King’s College London

Jafrin Rezwana, University of Helsinki

Andreea Ritivoi, Carnegie Mellon University

Rebecca Rosenberg, King’s College London

Kim Rostan, Wofford College

Hans Ruin, Södertörn University

Corinne Squire, University of East London

Stephanie Suárez, Complutense University of Madrid

Maria Tamboukou, University of East London

Annika Toots, Estonian Academy of Art

Tamara West, Marchester University